Marijuana DUI

It is a crime in California to operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Vehicle Code Section 23152(f) makes it a criminal offense for a person “who is under the influence of any drug to drive a vehicle.” This offense now includes marijuana which use is now legalized. If you have been arrested for DUI and the arrest involves marijuana, call the attorneys at SMITH LEGAL CENTER to protect your rights. Call now for a FREE Phone consultation.

What Are The Penalties For Marijuana DUI?

A marijuana DUI is misdemeanor offense in Los Angeles. However, the penalties that you will face will depend on the number of prior marijuana DUI convictions you have.

First Offense: Your first marijuana DUI conviction will be punishable by between 96 hours to 6 months in a Los Angeles County jail, suspension of your driver’s license for 6 months, and $1,000 in fines.

Second Offense: Your second marijuana DUI conviction will be punishable by between 90 days to one year in a Los Angeles County jail, suspension of your driver’s license for up to 2 years, and $1,000 in fines. *This second DUI conviction must be within 10 years of your initial marijuana DUI conviction.

Third and Subsequent Offenses: Subsequent marijuana DUI convictions will be punishable by between 120 days and one year in a Los Angeles County jail, permanent revocation of your driver’s license, and $1,000 in fines.

Unlike California's DUI laws regarding alcohol, which presume that your ability to drive is impaired if you have a BAC of .08 or greater, there is no "per se" THC amount that automatically presumes that you are DUI. THC is the active ingredient in marijuana. However, if a police officer believes that your mental abilities are impaired and that you cannot drive with the same caution of a sober person using ordinary care under similar circumstances, you will be arrested for DUI.

Don't Delay -- Call Smith Today!   Available 24/7

(877)213-7070

Auto Accident

Read more

Motorcycle Accident

Read more

Ridesharing (Uber/Lyft/Taxi)

Read more

Slip and Fall

Read more

Employment Law

Read more

Animal Attack

Read more

Assault & Battery

Read more

Medical Malpractice

Read more

Marijuana DUI

Read more


I didn’t use marijuana while driving but was still arrested and or cited

THC can be detected in your system for up to 12 hours after consumption, possibly longer in regular marijuana users, well after the effects have worn off and would no longer affect your ability to drive. Studies show that first time smokers usually test positive for marijuana for 5 to 8 days after using. Smokers that get high 5 to 6 times a week will test positive for over a month after smoking. This is significant in DUI cases. A person placed under arrest for suspicion of driving under the influence of marijuana may not have consumed any marijuana at all, e.g., they were not "high" at the time of driving, however the blood result comes back positive for THC because they smoked a few days earlier. If this is you or someone you know…DON’T DELAY-CALL SMITH LEGAL CENTER TODAY! (866)777-6484

Don't Delay -- Call SMITH Today!   Available 24/7

(866) 777-6484